Time for Honesty

First, an apology. I was supposed to have this up when 3edgedsword and Urizen each posted their respective introductions. Gentle reader, I know that first impressions are of the utmost importance, and I have already gone and cocked this one up. I am hoping that this will be the last time I fail to update here in a timely fashion, but let’s be honest with each other – it probably won’t be. Thus, please accept this as not only my apology for this trespass, but as a preemptive apology for my future trespasses, whatever they may be. I am sorry, and I will endeavor to serve you as best I can in the future.

Now, to business. Why am I here? What business do I have tell you how things should be? The truth: Because, and absolutely none. That first point may deserve clarification. I am here because I am dissatisfied. Dissatisfied with the status quo, and I want it to change. Do I think that I can do that from here? Absolutely not. Even with the formidable mental, rhetorical and philosophical powers of my Intelligent Party compatriots, we haven’t a snowball’s chance in hell of changing everything just by talking here. You do, and so I am embracing the mantle of the do-it-yourself instant pundit in a desperate attempt to rejuvenate the public discourse. The current political climate across the United States is overwrought with empty rhetoric and crowd-pleasing politics. I think that politics should be less about telling people what they want to hear, and less about what party you want to align with. People should be able to hear what is distasteful but correct, and they should hear it on the public arena.

But mostly, I’m here because politics makes me sick. I am appalled when people I agree with resort to ridiculing and ignoring the other side for the simple reason that they are the other side. My favorite people disagree with me. They disagree with me eloquently, intelligently, and above all reasonably. That, more than anything is why I am here now. Because I want to be disagreed with, and I believe that discussion can only help. I know that things I say will be wrong, impractical, or naïve, and I’m okay with that. As long as you tell me when and why I am.

-Demosthenes

One Response to Time for Honesty

  1. community care health plan plan d…

    vanquishes arguably mutely …

Leave a Reply

