Already a Month; also, Links to Smart People

As of early this morning, we’ve been up and running for a month. I’m hoping to pick up the pace in the coming weeks and months, but for now, I’d like to link to a few people who are doing some particularly good blogging of late.

Alonzo Fyfe over at Atheist Ethicist (whom I just realized I had neglected until now to add to our blogroll) recently passed the 150 post milestone, and in the process he gave us an index to some of his best posts on reason-based morality, a subject that’s near and dear to my heart (and mind). I’ve only been reading him for a month or so, since his post on the Pledge appeared in the Carnival of the Godless, and I haven’t had a chance to go back to all of his older posts, but what I’ve read has been both rigorous and very readable. He’s been particularly good lately on the Danish cartoon debacle, too.

While I’m on that subject, Ed Brayton has been, to my mind, the best and most comprehensive source of commentary on the Danish cartoons, from the humorous and ironic to the insightful and downright frightening. (You should also check out some of the other stuff at Positive Liberty while you’re there.)

Dave Neiwert over at Orcinus has a long history of excellent commentary on eliminationist rhetoric, and while I don’t necessarily share his views on hate crime legislation, I do think it’s extremely important to understand how rhetoric turns to action, and he articulates this more effectively than anyone else in the blogosphere.

Lastly, I should nudge you all rather forcefully towards Thoughts from Kansas. Were some strange person to put a gun to my head and force me to stop reading all but one of the blogs I currently read, TfK would be it. Great on science, great on politics (both local and national), great on the interactions between the two (three?). Look; manimals! (Edit: I just have to add this, because it’s too good. TfK on McCain’s campaign finance flipflops: “Like all great indie acts, his early work was better.”)

Urizen

One Response to Already a Month; also, Links to Smart People

  1. talkislam says:

    thanks for the linkd, its good to stay connected to the educated

Leave a Reply

